BSc Propaedeutikum
Propädeutikum Biologische Psychologie und Kognitive Neurowissenschaft (BPCN) 
 
BSC BPSY-507 
 
Das Propädeutikum dient der Vorbereitung auf eine Bachelorarbeit in der Abteilung. Eine erfolgreiche Teilnahme am Propädeutikum garantiert eine Anschlussbetreuung der Bachelorarbeit in der Abteilung. Dieses dient zur Vermittlung der Kernkompetenzen, die für die schnelle und erfolgreiche Durchführung der Bachelorarbeit nötig sind. Neben grundlegenden Kompetenzen, wie der Literaturrecherche und dem wissenschaftlichen Schreiben, sind die relevanten Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten, die im Propädeutikum erworben werden sollen, abhängig vom Thema, das Sie bearbeiten wollen. Schwerpunkt der Arbeiten ist also die Entwicklung von Überlegungen hinsichtlich einer realisierbaren Studie und der Erwerb von methodischen Kernkompetenzen.  
 
Angebot:  
 
Das Propädeutikum wird jedes Wintersemester angeboten und soll im Semester vor dem Verfassen der Bachelorarbeit wahrgenommen werden, in der Regel also im 5. Semester. 
 
Teilnahmebeschränkung:  
 
Maximal 10 Personen pro Semester. 
 
Ablauf:  
 
Als Leistungsnachweis erstellen die Studierenden zum Ende des 5. Fachsemesters ein kurzes Exposé zur geplanten Bachelorarbeit. Darüber hinaus besteht das Angebot, während des Propädeutikums unter Betreuung eine schriftliche Arbeit in Form eines kritischen Reviews zum Thema der geplanten Bachelorarbeit zu erstellen und dazu detaillierte Rückmeldung zu erhalten. Dieses Review kann teilweise als inhaltliche Grundlage und Einführung für den Theorieteil der Bachelorarbeit genutzt werden; es soll direkt auf die Abfassung der Bachelorarbeit vorbereiten. 
 
Während des Semesters finden 4 Treffen in der Kleingruppe statt. Diese werden durch umfangreiches Selbststudium während des Semesters ergänzt. 
1. Treffen (Woche 1 des Semesters): Übersicht über aktuelle Forschungsthemen und Methoden am BPCN; Vorstellung der Betreuer. 
2. Treffen (Woche 2 des Semesters): Festlegung der Themen, die jeder Teilnehmer erarbeiten wird. Verteilung der Grundliteratur. 
3. Treffen (Woche 3 des Semesters): Hilfestellung bei der Erarbeitung von Strategien zur Suche relevanter Literatur. Überblick über die Literatur und Planung der zukünftigen Arbeit. Klärung von Fragen zu Inhalt und Format der Arbeit. 
4. Treffen (letztes Drittel des Semesters): Besprechung eines bis dahin vorgelegten Entwurfs der schriftlichen Arbeit. Diese Sitzung sollte zu einem Zeitpunkt erfolgen, der eine rechtzeitige Einarbeitung etwaiger Änderungswünsche des Dozenten zulässt. 
 
Darüber hinaus müssen die Studierenden, wenn die Bachelorarbeit mit Hilfe einer der von der BPCN angewandten, anspruchsvollen Methode wie EEG, TMS oder fMRT geplant ist, sowohl die grundlegenden theoretischen als auch die notwendigen praktischen Kenntnisse über diese Methoden erhalten. Zu diesem Zweck sollen die Studierenden persönliche Treffen mit den relevanten Dozenten organisieren, um einen grundlegenden Einblick in die erforderlichen Techniken zu erhalten, indem sie laufende Experimente des BPCN besuchen sowie den Forschern bei grundlegenden notwendigen Analyseverfahren helfen. 
 
Anforderungen 
 
Die Anforderungen des Propädeutikums sind zweifältig im BPCN. Erstens, basierend auf aktuellen Forschungsarbeiten des BPCN, wird von den Studierenden eine theoretische Fragestellung schriftlich erarbeitet. Ziel ist die Erstellung eines kritischen Reviews. Dieses kritische Review soll sowohl der formalen als auch der inhaltlichen Vorbereitung der Bachelorarbeit dienen. Der Umfang der schriftlichen Arbeit ist mit den Dozenten abzustimmen; empfohlen wird ein Umfang von ungefähr 5-6 Seiten. Die Arbeit soll zum Ende des der Bachelorarbeit vorausgehenden Semesters in gedruckter Form und zusätzlich in elektronischer Form als PDF-Datei beim Betreuer eingereicht werden. Die Arbeit wird nicht benotet. Die Studierenden sollen allerdings differenzierte inhaltliche Rückmeldung erhalten. 
 
Zweitens, falls fMRT verwendet wird, müssen die Studierenden den regelmäßig angebotenen Sicherheitskurs des JUH für die Durchführung von Neuroimaging-Experimenten abschließen. Darüber hinaus werden in der Regel 3 praktische und 2 analytische Sitzungen von jedem Studierenden erwartet, um während des Semesters die Laboratorien des BPCN oder das Neuroimaging-Zentrum des JUH zu besuchen. 
 
Bachelorarbeit 
 
Die Durchführung der Bachelorarbeit erfolgt normalerweise im 6. Fachsemester. Die Themen der Bachelorarbeit werden mit der Betreuerin/dem Betreuer vereinbart und sollen bereits im Bachelor-Propädeutikum inhaltlich vorbereitet werden. In begründeten Einzelfällen können auch Studierende, die ihr Propädeutikum an einer anderen Abteilung absolviert haben, ihre Bachelorarbeit am BPCN durchführen. Vorrausetzung ist auch hier die rechtzeitige Erarbeitung eines Exposés. 
 
Themen 
 
Der BPCN bietet die Betreuung von Bachelorarbeiten zu einer Reihe von Themen an. Die Themenliste findet man unter http://www.cogsci.uni-jena.de/courses.html . Gern können Sie auch mit eigenen Themenvorschlägen für das Propädeutikum an Mitarbeiter des Lehrstuhls oder auch den Lehrstuhlinhaber selbst herantreten. 
 
Research Colloquium 
 
Denjenigen Studierenden, die das Propädeutikum und die Bachelorarbeit an der BPCN absolvieren, wird der regelmäßige Besuch des Forschungskolloquiums “Cognitive Neurosciences” erwartet. Es wird ebenfalls erwartet, die eigene Arbeit im Forschungskolloquium vorzustellen. Richtlinien zur Abfassung einer empirischen Bachelorarbeit finden sich in einem gesonderten Dokument. Grundlage ist die Prüfungsordnung für den Studiengang Psychologie mit dem Abschluss Bachelor of Science. (http://www.unijena.de/data/unijena_/faculties/fsv/institut_psychologie/pdf/bsc_pruefungsordnung.pdf ). 

Prof. Dr. Gyula Kovács
Géza Gergely Ambrus, PhD
Catarina Amado, MSc
Charlotta Eick, MSc
Kathrin Wiese
 
The temporal context of face perception

Predictive processes in the brain

vMMN mechanisms

Number processing in the brain

The hierarchy and parallelity of the visual face processing network

Body processing

The role of visual noise in perception 

BDNF and memory

Implicit learning in the brain
 
TMS Laboratory
Cooperations
Publications
Courses
Contact

BSc Propaedeutikum
Propaedeutikum Biological Psychology and Cognitive Neuroscience (BPCN)
 
BSC BPSY-507 
 
The propaedeutikum is used for the preparation of a Bachelor thesis in the department. Successful participation in the propaedeutic course guarantees the following support of the Bachelor thesis in the department. It provides the core competencies necessary for the rapid and successful implementation of the Bachelor thesis. Besides fundamental competencies, such as literature research and scientific writing, the relevant knowledge and skills acquired in the propaedeutikum depending on the topic that you wish to work on. Thus the focus of the work is the development of considerations regarding a feasible study and the acquisition of methodological core competencies. 
 
Offer:  
 
The propaedeutikum is offered every winter semester and is to be taken in the semester before writing the Bachelor thesis, usually in the 5th semester. 
 
Participation Restriction:  
 
Maximum 10 students per semester 
 
Procedure:  
 
At the end of the 5th semester students prepare a short exposé of the planned Bachelor thesis as a performance record. In addition, there is the offer to draw up a written work in the form of a critical review on the topic of the planned Bachelor thesis during the propaedeutikum under Supervision and to receive detailed feedback. This review can be used partly as a basis for the content and introduction for the theoretical part of the Bachelor thesis; it is to prepare directly for the drafting of the Bachelor thesis. 
 
During the semester 4 meetings are held in the small group. These are complemented by extensive self-study during the semester. 
1. Meeting (week 1 of the semester): Overview of current research topics and methods at BPCN; Introduction of the supervisors. 
2. Meeting (week 2 of the semester): Determination of the topics that each participant will elaborate. Distribution of basic literature. 
3. Meeting (week 3 of the semester): Help in the development of strategies for the search of relevant literature. Overview of literature and scheduling of future work. Clarification of questions about the content and format of the work. 
4. Meeting (last third of the semester). Discussion of a draft of the written work. This meeting should take place at a time which allows for the timely incorporation of possible changes by the lecturer. 
 
In addition, in case the Bachelor thesis is planned with the help of one of the sophisticated methods, applied by the BPCN, such as EEG, TMS or fMRI, the students are required to obtain both the basic theoretical as well as the necessary practical knowledge about these methods. For this aim the students shall arrange personal meetings with the relevant lecturer to obtain a basic insight into the required techniques by visiting running experiments of the BPCN as well as helping the researchers with the basic necessary analysis procedures. 
 
Requirements: 
 
The requirements of the propaedeutikum are twofold at the BPCN. First, based on current research work of the BPCN, a theoretical question will be worked out by the students in writing. The aim is the creation of a critical review. This critical review is intended to serve both preparation in form and content of the Bachelor thesis. The extent of the written work is to coordinate with the lecturers; approximate 5-6 pages is recommended. The review is to be submitted to the end of the semester preceding the Bachelor thesis in printed form and additionally in electronic form as a pdf file to the supervisor. The work will not be graded. However, the students are to receive differentiated feedback in content. 
 
Second, in case fMRI will be used, the students are required to complete the regularly offered safety course of the JUH for performing neuroimaging experiments. In addition, typically 3 practical and 2 analysis sessions are expected from every student to visit during the semester in the laboratories of the BPCN or at the neuroimaging centre of the JUH.  
 
Bachelor Thesis: 
 
The implementation of the Bachelor thesis usually takes place in the sixth semester. The topics of the Bachelor thesis are agreed with the supervisor and the content should be prepared already in the propaedeutic course. In justified cases, students who have completed their propaedeutikum in another department can also conduct their Bachelor thesis at the BPCN. Even in this case the timely elaboration of an exposé is the requirement. 
 
Topics: 
 
The BPCN offers the support of Bachelor theses on a number of topics. The list of topics can be found at http://www.cogsci.uni-jena.de/courses.html . You are also welcome to come up with your own proposals for the propaedeutikum to the department’s staff or the head of the department. 
 
Research Colloquium: 
 
For those students who complete the propaedeutikum and the Bachelor thesis at the BPCN, a regular visit to the research colloquium ‘Cognitive Neurosciences’ is expected. It is also expected to present the own work in the Research Colloquium. Guidelines for the formulation of an empirical Bachelor thesis can be found in a separate document. It is based on the examination regulations for the study course psychology with the Bachelor of Science degree. 
Prof. Dr. Gyula Kovács
Géza Gergely Ambrus, PhD
Catarina Amado, MSc
Charlotta Eick, MSc
Kathrin Wiese
 
The temporal context of face perception

Predictive processes in the brain

vMMN mechanisms

Number processing in the brain

The hierarchy and parallelity of the visual face processing network

Body processing

The role of visual noise in perception 

BDNF and memory

Implicit learning in the brain
 
TMS Laboratory
Cooperations
Publications
Courses
Contact